Arif on The Blog

Internet, Computer and Photography

DIY Camera Dry Box

with 3 comments

To me,  DSLR is considered one of my biggest investment expense. Therefore sub-optimum camera protection is unacceptable. To protect my camera from fog, fungi, and dust I desperately need a dry box.

The tiniest dry box (capacity 3 litres) displayed on Camera Shop is approximately cost IDR240,000. It can only fit for a small DSLR, a kit len, and a slow telephoto zoom (e.g. canon EF 55-250 IS). Fortunately, thanks to the internet magic, I found some interesting links that show me the cheap and cheerful alternative for dry box. Fotografer.net, saft7.com, and id-photographer mailing list are where I found the tips.

My dry box version is made from:

  • Biokips 5.2 litres (cheap version of lock n lock, listed IDR70,000 at Ace Hardware Bekasi).
  • Hygrometer. So you don’t need to guesstimate the humidity level of the storage. This cost me IDR90,000 at Ace Hardware (this thing is absolutely overpriced, it listed on Carrefour for only IDR50,000).
  • Bagus Serap Air (dehumidifier), I already owned one in my house so I don’t know the exact price.

Total cost is IDR160,000 – 50% cheaper than the original version.

Ok folks don’t let the fungi invade your precious lens, better save than sorry.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: ,

Written by arip

Mei 21, 2008 pada 4:41 pm

Ditulis dalam Lain-lain, Snapshots

3 Tanggapan

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Would like to see how I have done this?
    Visit http://www.ambepitiyage.com
    Cheers

    Rasika

    Oktober 27, 2008 at 4:43 pm

  2. This is a fairly wonderful and simple article about print companies
    and that is pretty refreshing.

    Carole

    Mei 6, 2013 at 6:58 pm

  3. Hello, I saw your weblog through Google as well as your spot looks very occupied for me.


Tinggalkan Balasan

